Blog Feed‎ > ‎

My NFL Hall of Fame Class of 2017

posted Sep 15, 2016, 7:08 AM by Austin James   [ updated Sep 15, 2016, 8:00 AM ]
The nominees for the NFL Hall of Fame Class of 2017 have just been announced, prompting a lot of debate over what members are worthy of football's highest honor. Among the candidates are big names and fan favorites, and many worthy candidates that probably won't make the cut this year. If the voting was up me, the following would be your Hall of Fame Class of 2017:

RB LaDainian Tomlinson
: This Chargers great was one of the most exciting and dynamic ball carrier the NFL has ever seen. His 145 career rushing TD and 28 rushing TD season in 2006 solidify him as one of the all-time greats. He also only had 21 fumbles on 3,174 attempts over 3 years; few people have that kind of consistent ball security throughout their career. LT deserves a place in Canton.

DL Jason Taylor: Jason Taylor is one of the meanest defensive ends ever to play the game. Unfortunately Taylor spent most of his career on a team that missed the playoffs, but this didn't stop him from having an incredible individual career. Taylor racked up 523 tackles and 139.5 sacks during his outstanding 15 year career.

LB Tedy Bruschi: Tedy is one of the best comeback stories in the history of the league. In 2005, Bruschi suffered a mild stroke due to his heart having a hole in it. He rehabed vigorously and after sitting out the 2005 season, returned to the league for 3 seasons to play for the Patriots. Prior to the stroke, Bruschi won 3 super bowls with the Pats and was inducted into their Hall of Fame after his retirement.

Owner Jerry Jones
: Say what you want about the man, but he has been everything every NFL owner dreams of and more. He has built possibly the greatest shine to the game in the New Cowboys stadium, and his constant involvement with the day-to-day operations of the team is unprecedented from an owner. Jerry changed what it earns to be an active owner. He deserves a spot as a contributor.

G Steve Wisniewski: The Wiz was nothing short of dominant in his career with the Raiders. He was voted to eight pro-bowls, was two time all-pro, and was elected to the NFL 1990's All Decade team by the Hall of Fame voters. Obvious choice for the jacket.

S Brian Dawkins
: Dawkins was easily one the craziest and most intimindating players in the history of the league. Stories about Dawkins bashing his forehead with his helmet before games make him the last person I'd want to see across the line from me, after Ray Lewis of course. His 891 career tackles and 37 interceptions back-up the pre-game intimidation tactics. Dawkins makes my Hall of Fame